Ukrainian political system

Politics in Ukraine

Today, Ukraine is a parliamentary-presidential democratic republic.

Political system of Ukraine underwent rapid change in the early 1990s after Ukraine gained its independence from the collapsing Soviet Union in late 1991. During the Soviet period (1922-1991), Ukraine was governed by the Ukrainian Communist Party, which in turn was subordinated to the Communist Party of the Soviet Union.

After independence, however, Ukraine’s rubber-stamp legislature, Supreme Soviet, was converted to a functioning parliament called Supreme Council. It is a 450-person, single-chamber legislature. Ukraine parliament members are chosen to four year terms in free, multicandidate elections. The chief executive of Ukraine is the President, who is also chosen in free elections.

The President of Ukraine has strong executive powers. The day-to-day administration of the government rests in the hands of the Prime Minister, who heads the Council of Ministers.

The range of Ukrainian political parties reflects European traditions. They include the Green party, Republican party, Democratic party, Peasant-Democratic party, Christian-Democratic party, and Socialist party. These parties tend to have small memberships, numbering only several thousand each, which demonstrates the legacy of antiparty feeling following decades of the Communist party rule.

During 1992, Ukraine began establishing its own armed forces including land army, navy, and air force.

In terms of nuclear weapons, in 1992, Ukraine transferred its tactical nuclear weapons to Russia.